Bibs

I decided that today was the first day of winter. Yesterday felt pretty chilly with the wind, and i knew that i’d be outside from beginning to end. So i put on the bibs, that timeless wardrobe of the working man. These are the northern workingman variety; Carhart duck canvas with double knees and quilted insulation. I put them on over a pair of 300 weight fleece pants…i was taking no chances. But it turned out to be a beautiful day. I don’t know what the temperature was, but the sun shone and i was moving, so i got to ditch the jacket.

The reacquaintance day with the ultimate in functional wardrobing got me to thinking. Come the endish of winter i’m going to buy a couple pairs of non-insulated bibs for working. It’s bloody nice to not deal with a belt; a cinch at the waist; or my pants wanting to slide down while my hands are full. Hurray for suspenders and fashion be damned. I’ll probably opt for bibs from The Duluth Trading Company. Gusseted crotch for the win, and firehose material rocks…it’s softer out of the box and if my firehose work jacket is any indication it’s also tougher than nails. (Duluth also treats the material for water resistance, my jacket no longer beads but it still keeps me dry.)

An interesting fringe benefit of bibs: they’re great for squatting because your shoulders end up supporting your ass. I know that squatting isn’t very popular in America; i always thought i was weird for finding the squat a practical and comfortable way of getting close to the ground, then i went to Asia and it made me feel better about myself.

First i start wearing bibs all the time, then i organize a Communist labor union. I’ve had the proper hat for a decade now, Finland Station here we come…

~ by Lex on December 6, 2009.

2 Responses to “Bibs”

  1. You made me go look them up… send the organizing memo in time, I want to order the blue ones first. 🙂

  2. Will do. Oddly enough, Europeans still follow the color coding. And in European factories, different pay grades wear different color coveralls.

    I’ve gotten a few things from the Duluth Trading Company and all of it has been very high quality and built for real use.

Leave a Reply

 
